This photo is taken in Dixon, California on the railroad track that runs right through the middle of town. I was on exchanges with Elder Henry and we were walking to an appointment and decided to walk along the rails to save some time. I decided it was a perfect opportunity for a photo.

It reminded me about the vision that the prophet Lehi had of  the tree of life and the iron rod found in the Book of Mormon. This story is a metaphor for our journey in life and many life lessons can be learned from it. In the account we read that a rod of iron leads to the tree of life. It is a guide and a surefire way to reach our desired destination in safety.  The rod of iron is interpreted as the word of God i.e scriptures written by holy prophets that are called of God. The tree of life is the love of God in providing us with a way back to return to Him through His only Begotten Son.

I am so grateful for the word of God in my life. I don’t know what I would do without the Bible and the Book of Mormon to help me know what my Heavenly Father expects of me. I know that they are there for us to read and learn how we can become better people, how we can become more Christlike. I love the scriptures and I would invite you to make them a greater part in your life.  I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Links to online scriptures.

The Old Testament

The New Testament

The Book of Mormon

The Doctrine and Covenants

The Pearl of Great Price

