Long I Sought Thee

by James Allen

“Long I sought thee, Spirit holy,
Master Spirit, meek and lowly;
Sought thee with a silent sorrow, brooding o’er the woes of men;
Vainly sought thy yoke of meekness
’Neath the weight of woe and weakness;
Finding not, yet in my failing, seeking o’er and o’er again.

In unrest and doubt and sadness
Dwelt I, yet I knew thy Gladness
Waited somewhere; somewhere greeted torn and sorrowing hearts like mine;
Knew that somehow I should find thee,
Leaving sin and woe behind me,
And at last thy Love would bid me enter into Rest divine.

Hatred, mockery, and reviling
Scorched my seeking soul, defiling
That which should have been thy Temple, wherein thou should’st move and dwell;
Praying, striving, hoping, calling;
Suffering, sorrowing in my falling,
Still I sought thee, groping blindly in the gloomy depths of hell.

And I sought thee till I found thee;
And the dark Powers all around me
Fled and left me silent, peaceful, brooding o’er thy holy themes;
From within me and without me
Fled they when I ceased to doubt thee;
And I found thee in thy Glory, mighty Master of my dreams!

Yea, I found thee, Spirit holy,
Beautiful and pure and lowly;
Found thy Joy and Peace and Gladness; found thee in thy House of Rest;
Found thy strength in Love and Meekness,
And my pain and woe and weakness
Left me, and I walked the Pathway trodden only by the blest.”

I know that the Spirit is real. It brings us peace. One of the greatest blessings of our Church is when a person is baptized they qualify for the gift of the Holy Ghost. That gift is given by the laying on of hands by those holding the priesthood of God. It is a gift for us to feel peace and joy in this life and lead us back home to our Father in Heaven in the next life.

I am so grateful to have the gift of the Holy Ghost and him as my constant companion as long as I want him around me. I know that everyone can feel the love our Father has through the feelings from the Holy Ghost. He will always lead us to truth and what God wants us to know and experience. All we have to do is have enough faith to experiment in finding it. Seek and ye shall find, knock and it shall be opened unto you.

 

