So I wanted to highlight a friend of mine on my blog by reposting his Mormon.org profile. Ryan Bills is serving as a full time missionary like me in the same area but he works with Spanish speakers and I work with those who speak English and/or American depending on their grammar and word choice.

Ryan and I have been able to serve around each other and get to know each other and I admire him for lots of different things but his love for the Savior and commitment to Him is one of the top ones. I hope you enjoy his witness and testimony.

Image

Me, Elder Ryan Bills, and Elder Jenkins (from Wales, he speaks English, not American.)

Image

Hi, I’m Ryan

I’m a collegiate swimmer. I wasn’t born in Texas, but I got there as quick as I could. I love comic books. And I’m a Mormon.

About Me

I have a lot of energy. I like to go and do things with my life. That’s probably why I have been a swimmer since I was 9 years old. I love anything to do with the water. I swam for a year at Brigham Young University on scholarship before becoming a full-time volunteer missionary for the church for two years of my life. I am serving in the California Santa Rosa Mission. I collect comic books (Marvel. Definitely not DC) and have always loved superheroes like Spiderman and Captain America. I was raised in the great state of Texas, and it is one of my favorite places on Earth. I have a wonderful family with an incredible set of parents and two younger brothers. I love reading books of any kind or genre. I have always been a pretty happy and outgoing person. I enjoy my life because it brings me happiness and joy.

Why I am a Mormon

Why I am a Mormon is very simple: I was born and raised in the Church. But why I STAYED a Mormon is even simpler: Because I came to know for myself that it is God’s true church. I have arrived at the conclusion that this is God’s Kingdom once again established on the Earth through a Prophet under His guiding hand. I have done so through prayer, study, experience, and faith. I have taken the matter in prayer to my Heavenly Father and through the workings of His Holy Spirit, He has shown me and taught me the truth. I am a Mormon because God has shown me that I should be. I am a Mormon because I want to return to my Heavenly Father’s presence after this life. I am a Mormon because I know that the Book of Mormon is true, Joseph Smith was a Prophet, that Jesus is the Christ, and that this Church is true. I know it, and I live what I know. It is the only way to be.

How I live my faith

I live my faith as best as I can: by allowing the teachings and example of our Savior Jesus Christ to mold and shape my habits, thoughts, words, and actions. I don’t smoke, drink, or curse. I do my best to exemplify and perpetuate the attributes that our Savior demonstrated in His life and through His teachings. I read my scriptures and pray on a daily basis. I go to church every Sunday. I share my beliefs with others because I know it will bless and enhance their lives as it has done mine. I govern my life based upon the highest moral standard possible: the unchanging commandments of God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ.

