It is my opinion that doctors have good intentions of helping others become whole and well. I also believe that there is a limit to that desire to help people become healthy and whole. What use would a hospital be if no one was sick? What would the number of doctors we have in the country be doing with their time? No patients equals no need for doctors equals no more fancy cars, homes, and trips. It is my opinion that they current health systems goal is not to make people whole but to keep their customers. The love of money can bought and sold with personal integrity.

That being said.

Most people like to get multiple opinions and counsel with many doctors and seek to find the best course of action for them. Some doctors will give you the honest truth and some will give you the run around.

Religion can be a lot like this process. We all have problems in life. Unhappiness, lack of fufillment in life, distance between family and friends, bad temperments, negative outlooks on people and situations. We can all go looking for various teachings, doctrines, and ritual experiences of church, worships services, praise music that will heal us and help us with our problems. We find so many different explanations for the cause and just as many solutions to those problems. It can be difficult almost impossible to find the truth and what is the right course of action. Sometimes it can appear that people just want to keep their customers paying for their Church and preachers car and home. It can be hard to find the honest and true who are willing to tell us the real facts about why we feel the way we do.

Thankfully for us we can talk to the Designer and Creator of our bodies and our souls. Prayer is an invaluable gift in seeking for the truth. We can take what we have been told, study it out and confirm it with God. We have to be willing to hear the hard truth that “Well the reason why you have so many health problems can be attributed to you smoking cigerettes.” It is up to us if we are going to disregard and continue destroying our bodies at the cost of our own health and long term happiness. The addictive nature of certian sins can be difficult to break but we would be a fool for not trying and calling upon heaven to help us.

I heard someone say, “If you are unhappy, repent.”

“12 And many great destructions have I caused to come upon this land, and upon this people, because of their wickedness and their abominations.

13 O all ye that are spared because ye were more righteous than they, will ye not now return unto me, and repent of your sins, and be converted, that I may heal you?

14 Yea, verily I say unto you, if ye will come unto me ye shall have eternal life. Behold, mine arm of mercy is extended towards you, and whosoever will come, him will I receive; and blessed are those who come unto me.

15 Behold, I am Jesus Christ the Son of God. I created the heavens and the earth, and all things that in them are. I was with the Father from the beginning. I am in the Father, and the Father in me; and in me hath the Father glorified his name.”

3 Nephi 9

As we seek for the truth from God, we will learn of His commandments. We will find the health guidelines, if you will, that will give us spiritual happiness and wellness. Too many of us are uninformed of these guidelines and virtues. 

We must prayerfully seek to know the truth of those commandments. Then we must be humble enough to admit we have our problems, and be willing to work on eliminating them the hard way. We cannot just take the first or most convenient counsel of a magic pill once a day that requires no change in our current behavior or the least amount of effort for the desired health and happiness. Happiness is bought only by obedience to the commandments of God.

I bear my witness that as we shake ourselves of ignorance and apathy of the commandments of God we can be happy. I have been blessed to know of these commandments my whole life, but the application and sure knowledge of the promised blessings and benefits have come only with humility. They are true. We can repent. Through Christ we can be healed and happy. This I know in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

